The King In I

The power of my brain is

Out of hand and out of mind.

So I find myself ahead, rather than

Behind.

 

But, sometimes my mind gets

Ahead of itself.

Run away I say,

No not today, not this time.

 

Why try and fight yourself?

Why show that you have the spine?

Just know you’re one of a kind.

Let the feeling of time dissipate,

 

Sit for just ten minutes and concentrate.

With your eyes closed, eradicate

All unwanted stress and hate.

You’ll feel the world allow you to levitate.

 

What I feel and see is partly real

And surreal.

Looking up and not seeing teal;

The sky red like the blood when it reaches oxygen.

The sun black like one who attacks a king

And his following.

 

The tip of the sword that punctures the body,

Your structure of murder is more than a hobby.

A religious act of sacrifice;

One who believes they have the eyes and a soul

Of ice.

 

Colder than the boulder that fell from a cliff.

The rhythms of life are the notes of a riff.

Being crushed by fate, the weight of a boulder;

You now burn from no flame, it’s a shame

You’ll have to smolder.

 

Now that the king is dead, perished from

My head,

I live for myself and thank all that has led

Me toward rewards.

Leave a comment